Nourishing Body, Mind and Spirit

Our naturopath suggested that we start a castor oil abdominal massage in the evening to help with the gentle cleansing process. The full instructions are below, but for most kids, you do what you can do:

  • 1/4 cup of castor oil for approx. 5 to 10 minutes in a clockwise direction starting at the right hip.
  • Finish massage with 5-10 massage strokes downward from left rib to mid-pelvis
  • Then place a towel soaked with castor oil over the abdomen, then a dry towel and then a hot rice bag or water bottle.
  • Cover with a blanket to keep heat in.
  • Leave on for 15 minutes.
  • Remove and wipe abdomen with warm water/baking soda-soaked cloth.
  • Practice this for 3 nights in a row each week.

I started tonight and  just massaged Moses’ belly clockwise for about a minute.  Good enough to start with, I think.

I’m not familiar with this technique, so I googled it and found that castor oil was traditionally taken internally, but due to its potency, it’s better used externally. I particularly found it interesting that Edgar Cayce (a psychic channel) often recommended castor oil packs as a cure for many ailments.

Earth Clinic Folk Remedies has this to say about castor oil cures:

A castor oil pack is placed on the skin to increase circulation and to promote elimination and healing of the tissues and organs underneath the skin. It is used to stimulate the liver, relieve pain, increase lymphatic circulation, reduce inflammation, and improve digestion.

Castor oil packs are a traditional holistic treatment for a range of conditions, such as: cholecystitis (inflammation of the gall bladder), poor eliminations, epilepsy, various liver conditions such as cirrhosis and torpid liver, scleroderma, headaches, appendicitis, arthritis, incoordination between assimilations and eliminations, colitis, intestinal disorders such as stricture and colon impaction, incoordination between nervous systems, neuritis, and toxemia.

In Moses’ case, I think the castor oil massage is probably to help with his digestion and to reduce inflammation. I’ll let you know how it goes!

Update:  May 22, 2010 – Well, the truth is that I haven’t been able to successfully make this part of the bedtime routine. We’ve only done it a total of two times so far. I think this is probably better for an adult, or an older child. My four year old just won’t hold still long enough for me to massage his belly. I can massage his back for a lot longer and I do with coconut oil, but haven’t been able to do the castor oil treatment.

November 19, 2010 – Our naturopath suggested that we massage castor oil on our son’s back once a week in a clockwise direction, which may help to draw out some toxins from his back. His back is currently the area where most of his eczema is concentrated.

December 2010 – We never really got in the habit of doing this.

August 26, 2014 – We started this again. Still keeping it simple (just rubbing some castor oil on his belly counter clockwise around 10 times) and then leaving it there for 15 minutes and then rubbing off with a warm damp cloth.

Comments on: "Castor oil abdominal massage" (11)

  1. Very Interesting Janice. You are such a devoted Mommy.
    XO

  2. spirityoga said:

    Aw… Thanks, Carla. That means a lot — coming from such a devoted mommy! I asked my naturopath about some acupressure points, so I’ve been sneaking some of them in with Moses. It’ll probably be my next post and we can see if some of them are the same ones!

    Hugs,
    Jan

  3. [...] a castor oil abdominal massage for gentle cleansing and a variety of [...]

  4. [...] 19, 2010 – Our naturopath suggested that we massage castor oil on our son’s back once a week in a clockwise direction, which may help to draw out some toxins [...]

  5. This is interesting. I recently learned about castor oil packs when I had a breast infection.

  6. spirityoga said:

    Did you find them helpful? I’m sure that they would be useful for me too, but I haven’t tried them yet.

  7. I think it helped. The infection cleared up quickly.

  8. I used Castor oil for my autistic sons eczema, and my own on my face and pimples, back aches, packs for the tummy and chest congestion with herbs to relieve bronchial congestion, etc. My good friend recently used it for a lump found under her arm, near her breast..it went away. She told me recently she took a small amount orally and it pulled out some nasty stuff out of her…it is truly an amazing oil. You can read the book “The Oil that Heals” based on the readings of Edward Cayce..it’s most likely on Amazon.com

    Also we are currently doing Heilkunst and it is a very profound detoxification; visit http://www.homeopathy.com and get the book “Autism the Journey Back”, by Rudi Vespoor and Patti Smith Vespoor.

    God Bless,

    Gisel

  9. spirityoga said:

    Hi Gisel: Thanks so much for sharing your experience with castor oil.

    Interesting that you should mention Heilkunst. We are also healing with Heilkunst (my son and me) and I’ve been describing our journey on this blog.

    Take good care,
    Janice

  10. [...] is now noticeably larger and the largest one is a lot itchier. One of my readers commented on my castor oil post and it made me think that maybe castor oil might help. Sure enough, castor oil is known to [...]

  11. [...] Consider castor oil abdominal massage for gentle cleansing and a variety of ailments. (We only tried it a couple of times). [...]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 104 other followers

