Nourishing Body, Mind and Spirit

Allergic to mustard

Well, this is new and unexpected, but we learned yesterday that Moses is highly allergic to mustard. This hasn’t been on our radar at all, but explains the anaphylactic reaction to canned baked beans that contained mustard in August.

Before his allergist appointment, I reviewed the list of ingredients on the canned beans and thought that we should get mustard tested, just in case. And sure enough — he’s highly allergic to it. Very good to know.

So, this brings us up to 6 allergies (as diagnosed by his allergist): tree nuts, wheat, eggs, dairy, fish and mustard. This is still a lot fewer than the 40+ allergies / sensitivities that he had when he was 2-3 years old.

On the good side of things, mustard is very easy to avoid.

I just found out that mustard is actually one of the ten priority food allergens in Canada.  Who knew?

Comments on: "Allergic to mustard" (5)

  1. gopalvaitha said:

    Dear Spitiyoga,

    I have been following your blog since quite some time. You are one of the most inspiring parents I have ever come across. First of all, let me congratulate for bringing you son’s health to stability and sharing your stories with us. I know how hard it is as we are going through a similar journey since last 3 years.

    Well, we live in Ireland and I have 5 year old son. He is having IgE level more than 10k+. Normal IgE machine is not able to measure and we get blood test done with special blood test in Austria. He does not have Job Syndrome but you can say hyper allergy syndrome. We have done genetic diagnostic with Harvard Medical, which came negative. He is suffering from learning disability, constant itching, not able to sleep, frequent infection of skin, folliculitis and severe food restrictions. I have seen 28 doctors in 6 countries so far. We have some respite from the effort we have done in last year but I think still a long way to go.

    I have a quick question. You said that Mosses allergy went down from 40+. To only 6 Does it mean his IgE level showing reduction in the blood test?

    Regards
    Dubliner

  2. spirityoga said:

    Hi Dubliner:

    Thanks for your kind words and I’m glad that sharing our story can inspire others….

    I’m sorry to hear that your 5 year old son is going through a similar journey as ours. I know that it is very difficult and challenging. I wish him much healing and you much strength.

    It’s difficult to answer your question because when our son had so many allergies / sensitivities when he was quite young, the doctors did not actually measure his IgE levels, so we don’t know what they were at that time. When they finally measured it when he was 4.5 years old (which is shortly before they diagnosed him with HIES / Job’s syndrome), and it measured between 59,766 and 70,000 IU/mL at that time. Currently, it’s >20,000. Frustratingly, even though the lab has been instructed to quantify his exact IgE levels, for the last two years, they have just told us that it is greater than 20,000, so we don’t know what his exact IgE levels are.

    That said, the 6 allergens that I mentioned above are the only foods that we avoid (whereas when he was 2-3 years old, we avoided most foods), and we try to minimize his exposure to preservatives, artificial colours, flavours and chemicals as much as possible.

    Hope this helps.

  3. Read this article this morning. I’ve been following your blog for a few years now. In many respects, due to my own strange health issues rather than my son’s. Anyway, I thought you might find it somewhat useful or interesting.
    http://pathwaystofamilywellness.org/component/option,com_crossjoomlaarticlemanager/Itemid,544/aid,1217/view,crossjoomlaarticlemanager/

  4. spirityoga said:

    Thanks so much for your message, reading and following my blog for so long, and also sharing this article. I will be sure to read it soon!!! I appreciate you thinking of me and sharing it with me.

  5. spirityoga said:

    I just read the article and it really resonates with me. Thank you for sharing!!!!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 99 other followers

