Raising a Sensitive Child

Nourishing Body, Mind and Spirit

Asperger’s Syndrome?

7 Comments

As I awoke from a dream, the words “Asperger’s Syndrome” flashed before me. The night before, I was speaking to a friend of mine (a healer / Reiki master friend of mine) about the recent difficulties that I have been having in raising my son.

The words in the dream appeared to be the answer to my unasked question.

Even without knowing much about Asperger’s Syndrome, the dream brought me comfort because it made me feel that maybe I wasn’t going crazy.

The truth is that even before Moses was born, I had suspicions that he would be autistic. But when his language skills developed normally, I put that thought to rest.

Now that I’ve started to read about Asperger’s Syndrome (AS), I’ve learned that most individuals with AS are highly verbal and highly intelligent (both of which are true for Moses).

He doesn’t show all of the characteristics of AS, so it’s not clear to me, but I wouldn’t be surprised if he was diagnosed with a mild form of it.

I will let you know more as it is revealed to us.

7 thoughts on “Asperger’s Syndrome?

  1. Hi Janice,

    My step son who is 11 has this. My husband is convinced his MMR/DPT had caused it. Back then the vaccine structures were a bit different. Right after he received them, he slept for 12 hours and had seizures and was never the same. The doctors do not even acknowledge it. I do not know much about it, though I wanted to share with you. His son is an amazing, intelligent boy with many gifts. Very sensitive as well.

    Hugs,
    Carla

  2. Hi Carla: Thanks for sharing… Of course you know, we just did our first MMR about 6 weeks ago and Moses’ sleep hasn’t been the same since. I’m still not quite sure about it, but we will discuss it with the family doctor and take it from there.
    xox,
    Jan

  3. Hi Janice ~ I guess my question for you is how would a diagnosis help you better understand your son? I mean, theoretically, it could answer certain questions about why he behaves in certain ways, if he really has AS, but you are already very tuned in to your child. No one understands him better than you do.

    How do you think Moses would benefit from a diagnosis? Isn’t he already being respected for who he is? Aren’t you already being present with him and trusting your intuition as to what to do to best support and nurture him exactly as he is?

    Scary stuff about MMR. Did you sense this about him before the shots?

    Hugs,
    Alexis

  4. Hi Alexis: Great questions. My answer was so long that I answered your questions in my latest “Puppy Prescription” post! https://crystalchild.wordpress.com/2009/10/28/puppy-prescription/

    Hugs,
    Janice

  5. Pingback: Follow-up to MMR post « Raising a Sensitive Child

  6. Pingback: Night terrors resulting from vaccinations « Raising a Sensitive Child

  7. Pingback: Gros Morne Highlights « Raising a Sensitive Child

Leave a Reply

