Raising a Sensitive Child

Nourishing Body, Mind and Spirit

Your child as teacher

3 Comments

“Your child was your teacher in  another life”.  I’ve heard this from a couple of intuitives, and I believe it to be true because of the dynamic that Moses and I have.

One intuitive said that he was my teacher in many lives, and I’m so used to him being the teacher that it’s difficult for me to be in the role of parent in this lifetime.

Of course, it’s also true that in this lifetime, we chose our roles as such — that I would be his parent in this lifetime and he would be my son. I have things to teach him in this lifetime, just as he has things to teach me.

Moses has a very strong personality. He knows who he is. He remembers. He knows his power. I’m generally more easy going and it’s sometimes been difficult to develop the inner strength to match Moses’ in order to parent him effectively.

I’m now realizing that Moses needs me to cultivate my inner strength. He needs a strong parent. He needs boundaries. He needs me to be able to say no, and mean it.

My puppy, Cookie, is also teaching me. I’ve been reading the book by Cesar Millan, Cesar’s Way, which discusses how to relate to your dog. I’m learning to cultivate my calm-assertive energy. It’s not natural for me. My energy is naturally submissive, so it’s been a challenge as my puppy needs me to the the assertive, dominant one in the relationship.

Our children are our teachers. What is your child / are your children teaching you?

3 thoughts on “Your child as teacher

  1. I know I’m bombarding you with comments, but I’m sure you don’t mind. I’m just catching up.

    Now that my son is a toddler and starting to assert himself more (and I know this is just the beginning!), I am often torn between allowing him to make the choice himself, and being more assertive myself. It’s tough.

    But what is Michael teaching me? I suppose he’s teaching me that I don’t have all the answers. He pushes me to go find some of them. He’s teaching me to let go of the things I can’t control and even some of the things I can control. To live in the moment. To be extra-focused if I really want to get something done.

  2. Hi Edenwild: Those are all great things that Michael is teaching you — I can relate to all of them…

  3. Pingback: A soul’s contract | Raising a Sensitive Child

Leave a Reply

