Raising a Sensitive Child

Nourishing Body, Mind and Spirit

Allergy-friendly baked goods in NL

4 Comments

Well, I’m in heaven.  I just found out that a fellow mom of a sensitive boy has started a “Safe Cakes” business in Paradise, NL.

  • Allergy-friendly baked goods
  • Free of dairy, eggs, peanuts and tree nuts
  • Made on dedicated equipment
  • Wheat / gluten free cakes are also available.
  • To order, contact Dawn at 709-782-2082 or safecakes@yahoo.com
  • Safe Cakes Facebook Group is here.

I am gifted at many things, but truthfully baking isn’t one of them (not yet anyway).  Last year, I made my boy a gluten-free, egg-free, dairy-free cake for his birthday, but it didn’t rise. (I’ve actually attempted to make many allergy-friendly baked goods for Moses, which haven’t turned out). We sang happy birthday to him and he blew out a tealight candle (which he loved doing again and again and again), and we had many other safe treats for him, but just no birthday cake.

This year, he’s going to have a “Safe Cakes” cake!

Update (May 2010):  We ordered the apple cinnamon muffins (with a few minor modifications to accommodate his allergies) for his birthday and they were delicious!!

4 thoughts on “Allergy-friendly baked goods in NL

  1. Janice thanks for the mention….we have started the business because of our experience with our son, who is severely allergic to dairy, eggs, peanuts and tree nuts. It is my hope to help families like us deal with the social situations and celebrations like birthdays, because I know how difficult it has been for us on times. As for your thoughts on your baking ability hang in there, there has been many failed attemps here over the last 3 + years. Keep trying.

    Dawn

  2. Hi Dawn: As I mentioned, I’m very thankful that a business like yours is around and I’m happy to do what I can do spread the word! And, thanks for the encouragement about my baking!

    Janice

  3. Thanks for sharing this with us, Janice!

    And Dawn – congratulations on your new business and the best of luck to you! Are you on Twitter? Facebook? How can I help spread the word for you?

    Cheers!
    Alexis

  4. Hi Alexis: I posted Safe Cakes’ Facebook group link above. It’s http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=247970033672!

    Nice to hear from you!

    Janice

Leave a Reply

