Raising a Sensitive Child

Nourishing Body, Mind and Spirit

Toxic overload

16 Comments

Our children are suffering from a toxic overload. It is this toxic overload that can lead to autism, allergies, eczema, etc.

In case you are thinking the book, Healing and Preventing Autism by McCarthy and Kartzinel, is only applicable to children with autism, I want you to know that this book is relevant to anyone (children and adults) who are suffering from any of the following ailments:

  • frequent infections (ears, sinuses, bowels, colds)
  • headaches
  • visual disturbances
  • auditory disturbances
  • oral sensory disturbances
  • dental issues
  • frequent infections (ears, sinuses, bowels, colds)
  • immune system dysfunction
  • allergies
  • candida
  • sleep disturbances
  • gastrointestinal disease (reflux, esophagitis, gastritis, inflammatory bowel disease, constipation, diarrhea, malabsorption, maldigestrion, dysbiosis)
  • seizures
  • hypotonia (low muscle tone)
  • abnormal gait (awkward walking or running)
  • rashes, eczema
  • problems with focus, concentration
  • obsessions
  • compulsions
  • anxiety
  • aggression
  • asthma
  • attention-deficit disorder (ADD), attention-deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD)
  • Obsessive-compulsive disorder (OCD)
  • Tourette’s syndrome
  • pediatric autoimmune neuropsychiatric disorders associated with streptococcus (PANDAS)
  • learning problems

Also, if you or your spouse have any of the following diseases in your family, you MUST read this book:

Methylation problems

  • dementia
  • schizophrenia
  • bipolar disorder
  • autism, ADHD, ADD
  • Alzheimer’s
  • depression
  • alcoholism
  • constipation
  • suicide

Auto Immune Problems

  • Crohn’s disease
  • Fibromyalgia
  • Leaky gut
  • Chronic fatigue
  • Celiac disease
  • Inflammatory bowel disease
  • lupus
  • multiple sclerosis
  • diabetes
  • MBP antibodies
  • rheumatoid arthritis
  • Addison’s disease
  • Graves disease
  • thyroid disease

(from pages 299-300)

If there is a family history of any of the diseases above, I would strongly advise against vaccinations and anything else that would cause a toxic overload on your child. If I had read this book prior to having Moses, I would have chosen not to vaccinate (not even selectively as we did).

In our case, both my husband’s and my families are “poor methylators” (based on the family history tree above). We have histories of three of the “poor methylator” diseases in our families, which means that my son is genetically predisposed to not being able to detoxify his system as well as he could be. (Update [January 2012] –  Moses and I have recently started taking a supplement that increases our intracellular glutathione levels; I have felt a significant shift in my energy levels, mental clarity and emotional stability – read more about this here).

He’s not the only one who is having a difficult time detoxifying. I think the current rate of autism is about 1 in 90, and I read here that a new Cambridge University study’s figures show 1 in 38 British boys has an autistic condition. Whatever the number is, it’s high. Our children need our help.

I believe that the Healing and Preventing Autism book by McCarthy and Kartzinel is an important book to read because it puts the power back into the hands of the parents. I’ve felt very powerless as I’ve struggled to parent Moses and have wondered why his system is so sensitive. Sensitive to just about everything. I’ve felt as though I must be doing something wrong, and I’ve wanted answers as to what the root cause for his sensitivities, and also answers as to what I can do as a parent to help him.

Now I feel as though I have some of the answers, and I just need to go step-by-step to help strengthen my son’s immune system, heal his leaky gut, address his candida issues, and at the same time, address my candida problems. Ironically, many of the things that help my son re: detoxifying are things that naturopaths suggested that I do before he was born. I’ve felt guilty about that — that I passed on imperfect genes to my son — but I’m wanting to move past that and do everything in my power to help to heal him. And heal myself at the same time.

This book is descriptive, prescriptive, and is written in a way that is easy to understand. There is even a table at the back of the book (p. 338) which lays out which of the remedies are most applicable for your child. So many things became clearer to me after I read this book. As I mentioned before, I had heard snippets of things before, but I had never really understood the big picture until I read this book. Dr. Jerry Kartzinel is the physician that helped Jenny McCarthy’s son, and so the information is from a doctor, but Jenny helps to ensure that the information can be understood by any parent.

In my opinion, this is an important book for all of us to read, and recommend to others. I hope that you do!

More reading

16 thoughts on “Toxic overload

  1. Pingback: Tips on Raising a Sensitive Child « Raising a Sensitive Child

  2. Janice~ Great post! This is an eye-opener. I appreciate how you teased apart the idea of toxic overload. Vaccine research studies on the general public that fail to take into account these different sensitivity factors are null and void, in my opinion. They’re missing the point. You made it very clear. Kudos!
    Alexis

  3. Hi Alexis: Thanks for the comment. I think I intuitively knew all along that it was all a result of a toxic overload, but I didn’t understand the science behind it before. Now it makes a lot more sense to now in a way that I didn’t fully get before.

    Take care,
    Janice

  4. Hi Janice~

    We also are working on breaking hereditary tendencies.

    I do not have the book, heard about it, now I will get it! TY.

    We are currently treating Emily with Chinese medicine ie. acupressure/herbs. All the above illnesses listed are all successfully treated with Chinese medicine. So far,…we have had GREAT success with acupressure with Emily’s ongoing gastric issues.Ive learned Breaking the inherited ailments passed on to our children can be broken with diligence through Chinese medicine. It’s a breaking of a cycle this method attacks energetically. I’m told in about two months Emily’s system will strengthen, and we will see a 360 change and she will be able to tolerate ALL foods!?( I am hopeful)

    We decided to NOT put her through all the invasive tests (endoscope, Upper GI Xray) due to her blood and stool came back CLEAR.
    I will keep you posted..
    Love, Carla

  5. Hi Carla: So glad to hear that Emily is responding so well with Chinese medicine. That’s one avenue that we haven’t really explored thoroughly. Do you have any suggestions with respect to finding a Chinese medicine practitioner? Are you seeing a doctor of Chinese medicine? I mentioned it to my husband and he’s open to acupressure, but leery of herbs….

    Tell me more when you get the chance! I’m excited for Emily.

    Love,
    Janice

  6. Janice~

    I’ve included the link below to where we are getting treatment from. It perhaps will give you an idea what to look for where you live. Exploring her site, may be helpful in gaining some insights for your situation. I am certain you can find one near you through your community. Eczema, asthma are a few that respond beautifully to this.

    I understand your husbands concern, once I explained and brought my husband to meet the doctor his apprehensions vanished. It is a cost added to the household here, though we are kind of at our wits end. We have little faith in utilizing traditional medicine as the only avenue with our daughter.

    Good Luck~ If you have any questions or want to speak live or through email, you know how to reach me 🙂

    http://www.holmdelacupuncture.com/about-us.html

    XO

  7. Thanks, Carla, for the information. I will feel it out. Moses’ naturopath is also an acupuncturist, so perhaps she’s familiar with some Chinese medicine as well — I’ll ask her. We were to have an appt today, but now it’s been delayed for a couple more weeks. I’ve looked and we do have others in the city who practice Chinese medicine as well, so we have some options.

    Glad to hear that your prayers have been answered. Keep me posted on how Carla does.

    Love,
    Janice

  8. Even though my son does not appear to be highly sensitive, I’ve always treated him as though he were (except for dietary restrictions–although we keep sugar and dairy to a minimum and no artificial anything). Everything is as non-toxic as possible. I just don’t want to chance it.

    I think I have 6-7 of those diseases in my family. Maybe more if I include my husband’s side.

  9. Hi Lisa: I’m sure that all of your precautions are benefiting your son’s health. Good for you and for him!!

  10. Pingback: Follow-up to MMR post « Raising a Sensitive Child

  11. Pingback: Hereditory predisposition for autism « Raising a Sensitive Child

  12. Pingback: Thoughts on vaccinations « Raising a Sensitive Child

  13. Pingback: Healing and Preventing Autism « Raising a Sensitive Child

  14. Pingback: Vaccination precautions « Raising a Sensitive Child

  15. Pingback: Stories of vaccine-injured children « Raising a Sensitive Child

  16. look into teramin edible clay and metal free. both great for healing the gut..

    anthony parlato

Leave a Reply

