Raising a Sensitive Child

Nourishing Body, Mind and Spirit

Natural cures for a mysterious rash

10 Comments

Well, when I first wrote this post, I thought that I had ringworm (a rash caused by a fungus, not by “worms”). As it turns out, my doctor doesn’t think that it is ringworm (he’s not sure what it is, so I’m being referred to a dermatologist), which explains why the natural cures for ringworm didn’t help my rash! In any case, I’ll leave what I’ve wrote since it still might help someone else with respect to natural cures for ringworm. Based on my experience if you want to treat an unknown rash, one of the first things you should do is get a diagnosis from a dermatologist, so you at least know what you’re dealing with.  (By the way, after a biopsy, the rash turned out to be eczema…)

Diagnosing a skin rash

If like me, it takes two months before you can see a dermatologist, here are some sites that you can try to use to figure out what kind of rash you may have:

  • Five tips on diagnosing a skin rash here.
  • Good questionnaire to help you diagnose a skin rash here and here.

Other rashes that may be mistaken for ringworm include: psoriasis, pityriasis rosea, seborrheic dermatitis, granuloma annulare, eczema, vitiligo or drug reactions. More about these other rashes here.

My original attempts at treating my mysterious rash

I had a bad case of a similar rash (pityriasis rosea – diagnosed by a dermatologist via biopsy) when I was a teenager — I had several patches all over my legs. Eventually (after a year or two), they went away.

A year ago, one new rash appeared on my thigh (I thought that it was ringworm at the time). It was the first rash that I had since I was a teenager and was right before I started my Heilkunst healing. I had hoped with the treatment, it would eventually resolve itself. Then another rash developed underneath my left knee. And then a third rash developed underneath my right knee. A fourth also developed on my foot, which eventually went away.  But, the remaining three are just getting bigger and itchier!

Other than ringworm homeopathic drops, I haven’t been doing much about it directly. I have been putting coconut oil on it (which is supposed to be have antifungal properties).  I’ve also been taking 3 drops of miracle mineral solution (MMS) every day for the last 5 months, which is also supposed to be an antifungal.

For around 10 days, I started to put an over-the-counter antifungal on it (Canesten). I found that it just made it more and more itchier. It actually started to hurt and didn’t look like they were getting any smaller.

Today, I decided to see what natural remedies have helped others with ringworm. Apple cider vinegar helped 80% of those who tried using it, so I decided to give it a try. OMG — did it ever sting (I’d been scratching like crazy lately and have little cuts all over them). I’m also going to take 1 tbsp of apple cider vinegar a day. I hope this does the trick. I’ll let you know how it goes.

Updates:

May 30, 2011 – Well, it’s been 10 days and the apple cider vinegar doesn’t seem to be working for me.  The smallest one is now noticeably larger and the largest one is a lot itchier. One of my readers commented on my castor oil post and it made me think that maybe castor oil might help. Sure enough, castor oil is known to help ringworm.  I have castor oil at home, so I’m going to give it a try. It already seems less itchy to me.

June 1, 2011 – Well, the castor oil is making me itchy now.  It occurred to me that my rash has been A LOT itchier since I’ve started to try to treat it, so I think I will go back to doing nothing about it (just using coconut oil as a moisturizer).

In the meantime, I saw my physician and he does not think that it’s ringworm. Nor does he think it is pityriasis rosea, which is what I had when I was a teenager. He is referring me to a dermatologist so that I can get it biopsied, and so they can figure out exactly what it is (but my appointment isn’t scheduled until early August, so I won’t figure this out anytime soon). He thinks I might even have two different types of rashes (he thinks the knee rashes might be psoriasis, but the thigh rash is different). Ack — I’d like to know what it is! In any case, they don’t seem to be responding to antifungal treatment.

June 2, 2011 – The rashes are less itchy now that I’m back to using only coconut oil. Coconut oil doesn’t heal them, but at least it doesn’t irritate them!

June 3, 2011 – My Heilkunstler recommends continuing with coconut oil (and of course, continuing with the homeopathic treatment).

July 17, 2011 – The rashes have been ridiculously itchy during this last month. Today, I purchased an over-the-counter remedy for psoriasis called Psoriasin (coal tar). The itchiness has gone away and the rashes look less irritated and moisturized (not dry and flaky). I think I have psoriasis, but it hasn’t been confirmed by a dermatologist yet.

By the way, I’ve read that coal tar can lead to skin cancer. Oh joy! But given the level of itchiness, at this point, I’m willing to take that risk. I’ll taper off the use of it eventually.  I know that this is counter to the Heilkunst treatment, which is bringing the disease out of my body (and generally makes symptoms worse), but at this point, this is what I’ve decided to do.

July 18, 2011 – Read about how one of my rashes got infected with MRSA.

July 30, 2011 – I’ve been using Psoriasin regularly and the rashes are no longer itchy and they are less red and irritated. Yay!

August 2, 2011 – Saw the dermatologist today. He thinks it could be a number of different things, including psoriasis, parapsoriasis, ringworm (i.e., tinea corporus), or mycobacteria (including either tuberculosis or even leprosy). He took a biopsy of one of the rashes, and I received a blood test for tuberculosis (my mom told me that she recently tested positive for tuberculosis, so that’s a possibility). And given that I lived in the Philippines for a year when I was 6 years old, it’s even possible that I might have leprosy. The incubation time for leprosy is very long (can be up to 30 years or more). After doing some research, I don’t think that it is leprosy since the rash associated with leprosy is generally not itchy and mine has been incredibly itchy (prior to treatment with Psoriasin). The dermatologist didn’t really think it was psoriasis because psoriasis generally presents symmetrically on the body (and mine is symmetrical on my knees, but asymmetrical on the thigh). And I personally don’t think it’s ringworm because it hasn’t responded to antifungal treatment. Given that I’ve been partially treating the rashes myself, he said that it is hard to clinically diagnosis the rash, and we won’t get the lab results back for another TWO MONTHS. In the meantime, he’s not going to treat it because treatment will really depend on what it is. Anyway, this will give me more time to undergo a couple more rounds of healing with Heilkunst, and I’m also going to start upping my dosage of miracle mineral solution (MMS – a “natural” antibacterial solution).

I still feel that it’s probably psoriasis given that level of itchiness.

August 17, 2011 – I’ve been backing off from the Psoriasin for a couple of weeks because my rashes have been less itchy. Yay! But, today, a fourth new rash appeared on the back of my left calf. It started out very itchy. From a Heilkunst homeopathic point of view, the fact that the rash is lower on my leg than the other three is a good sign since the direction of healing is down the body, so this shows that the “disease” is working my way out my body.

August 23, 2011 – The fourth new rash isn’t itchy anymore, and seemed to have resolved itself.

Got my stitches out today and the lab results from my tests three weeks ago are in. I have eczema.  That’s it.  He prescribed a powerful hydrocortisone with Fucidin (an antibacterial cream). Now that I know what it is and now that the rashes aren’t itchy anyway and seem to be fading, I’m not going to treat for now.  I’ll just continue with Heilkunst homeopathy.

November 28, 2011 – After the eczema diagnosis, my rashes stopped itching for a few months, but over the last month, they have started to itch like crazy. I’ve just been using coconut oil on them as a moisturizer, which doesn’t really help, but at least it’s not toxic for my body either.  I’ve been using Psoriasin sparingly. I’ve started to supplement with Udo’s oil to increase my omega oils. The Earth Cures website says that apple cider vinegar is the most effective natural cure for eczema so I’m going to start supplementing with 1 tablespoon of apple cider vinegar again. I’m not going to put it directly on the rashes because my experience from before indicated that it didn’t help (it just “burned” and irritated my rash). I have an appointment with my naturopath next week and will see what she has to say.

December 28, 2011 – Well,  my naturopath didn’t have any specific suggestions for my rashes (overall, I’m to increase the amount of raw foods in my diet). I recently started Dr. Keller’s Original Glutathione Formula, a supplement which increases glutathione production in the body. I hope that it will eventually help with the eczema. This month, I’ve been clearing through Heilkunst homeopathy the psoriasis chronic miasm, but that hasn’t seemed to help (but may be why my rashes have been so itchy this month!) I’ve restarted Psoriasin because the rashes have been so itchy. I’m still supplementing with Udo’s oil and/or a fish oil (Omega Joy), but I’ve been forgetting to supplement with apple cider vinegar.

January 11, 2012 – The itch is actually going down, and I think it’s a combination of Dr. Keller’s Original Glutathione Formula as well as putting a product that contains aloe vera juice on it…  It’s not red and itchy anymore. I’m still continuing with the fish oil as well.

January 20, 2012 – hmmm…. I ran out of the (expensive) product that contained aloe vera juice and just tried putting aloe vera juice on it, and the aloe vera juice actually irritated my rash. Weird…

February 21, 2012 – I am continuing to supplement with Dr. Keller’s Original Glutathione Formula, so I feel that I’m healing from the inside out. I’m also supplementing with a different fish oil (this one) because it’s produced in Nova Scotia, which is our neck of the woods. I’ve also been using my (expensive) skin care products that are meant to be used on my face on the rashes and it’s helping to heal it!!! It’s not itchy, scaly or red anymore. I really feel that this current regime will heal my rashes.

10 thoughts on “Natural cures for a mysterious rash

  1. Your posts are soooo insightful Janice…

  2. Thanks, Aliki!!

  3. I can totally identify with homeopathic ringworm. And I, too, had ringworm in high school. I was told I got it from the wrestling mats that we did aerobics on. Keep us posted on how the natural remedies work. Have you asked your heilkunstler about topical treatment?

  4. Hi Juniper: Thanks for sharing — it’s nice to know that I’m not the only one!! Good point about asking my Heilkunstler about a topical treatment. I actually haven’t yet, but I will next time I talk to her (next week, I think).

  5. Pingback: Benefits of Himalayan salt sole « Raising a Sensitive Child

  6. Pingback: It’s mama’s turn now « Raising a Sensitive Child

  7. Pingback: MRSA came to visit our house « Raising a Sensitive Child

  8. From reading your articles I think I have psoriasis. The rash is parallel above my heels, ankles, elbows and knuckles. Dabbing applecider vinegar mixed with water seems to sooth them the best. Ive tried baking soda and baby powder which usw to work but now seem to have no effect and calamine lotion now makes it its so bad it burns. Its hard to sleep sometimes from the itching. It could also possible be excema based on your description. I had it bad on my elbows but it is going away. I have a dermatologist Appointment in a month but I cane afford for it to last thus long. Im a personal trainer which is why at first i thought it was ringworm from equipment and what not but for all I know it cohld be a combination of 4 different things. Im gonna keep with dabbing the 40% apple cider vinegar 60% water and dramati ally boost my immune system with vitamins

  9. Hi John: Good luck!!!! I hope the ACV and vitamins help!

  10. http://e英語.com/ Thanks for that awesome posting. It saved MUCH time 🙂

Leave a Reply

