Raising a Sensitive Child

Nourishing Body, Mind and Spirit

Body brushing

2 Comments

Another thing that I do on a daily basis is dry skin body brushing (another thing that was recommended to me by my naturopath).

Body brushing:

  • wakes you up;
  • sloughs off dead skin cells;
  • stimulates the lymphatic system;
  • stimulates blood circulation;
  • helps eliminate toxins from the body;
  • tones muscles;
  • tightens skin;
  • strengthens immune system;
  • encourages cell regeneration; and
  • improves function of nervous system.

You’ll need a natural bristle body brush that’s specifically for body brushing (you can buy one at a health food store). The only thing you need to know is to always brush in the direction of the heart (to support the body’s natural circulation).

A natural bristle body brush

I *love* body brushing.  I body brush in the morning and before I go to bed at night. On days that I shower, I body brush before the shower. After my body brushing session, I end off with moisturizing with coconut oil. It feels like a simple at home spa treatment and my body loves it.

Note:  Body brushing is also a technique that can be used to help autistic children with sensory integration disorder. This type of body brushing involves a soft plastic surgical brush and involves a different method of brushing. For more details, see here.

2 thoughts on “Body brushing

  1. I got one of these after you recommended it to me a while back. I love it. It’s a great way to feel refreshed on my non-shower days. I had to get one when I cut back on showers because I was getting dead-skin build up. I like using before showers, too, because it saves time in the shower that I would otherwise be using to scrub myself with a wash cloth.

  2. Pingback: Tips for Raising a Sensitive Child « Raising a Sensitive Child « The Highly Sensitive Family

Leave a Reply

