Raising a Sensitive Child

Nourishing Body, Mind and Spirit

“I love you, even when you’re angry”

12 Comments

Well, dear readers, we’re going through a bit of a rough patch right now. Moses has been in and out of the hospital for the last week due to a dental abscess, which has escalated to him throwing up everything in his stomach for the last three days, a fever, a terrible headache, a bad tummy ache and, now, we just found out that he has developed pneumonia! Ack!

I kept my calm for the first five days, but yesterday, I started to lose my patience (angry at the hospital, the medical establishment [all of their interventions just drive the “disease” deeper into Moses’ system, causes Moses’ body to create larger healing reactions], and then the doctors are bringing in “bigger guns” to suppress the healing reactions. Just so tired of the situation). What my boy needs is rest (which you don’t get at the hospital), a calm environment and to be at home. His body needs a rest and to be supported, not suppressed.

We all need a rest.

Last night, I was tired and angry. Sadly, I started to lose patience with Moses.

As we were getting ready for bed last night, my sweet boy told me, “I love you, mom…. even when you’re angry”.

Oh, my sweet boy.

As one of my friends remarked after witnessing him calmly and contently playing on his hospital bed: what a teacher he is.

I told him that I loved him too, and told him that I was sorry that I was being such a cranky puss.

To which, he responded, “That’s okay. Sometimes, I get angry too.”

12 thoughts on ““I love you, even when you’re angry”

  1. ohhhhhhhhh…that is so sweet!
    yes treat with naturals if you must but plenty of liquids veggie broth soup no meat…lemon water and tea vitamin c every two hours. vitamin A and D once a day….oil of oregano helps with asma type symptoms….i hope you can heal him with out all the supression he will be better for it in the future..
    we have been dealing with our own devastating situation…hope we both can come out thru this as winners

  2. My heart goes out to you. I understand anger… not to get psychish on you – but it is at its core pain. And you are understandably pained. God Bless you guys. May Moses heal soon.
    Have you looked into hyperbaric oxygen therapy? And or Chinese Herbs. You are on East Coast – Dr Li out of Mount Sinai is someone you should look into. She has herb called ASHMI and FAHF-2 – one for asthma, other other for food allergy. But she is Traditional Chinese Doctor and Immunologist MD. One other thing – constitutional hydrotherapy.
    Good luck. Many are praying for you and Moses.

  3. Oh no, Janice,,,,my heart goes out to Moses and your family. I hope he’s able to get out of there soon and back to the natural way of healing. What a sweet boy he is…his words brought tears to my eyes. Hugs to you…..I have been there too and it takes such a toll on mom and dad. Keep us posted.

  4. Sorry to hear you’ve been having such a rough go the past few weeks 😦 Little Moses is one intuitive boy. I think he knew exactly what you needed to hear.

  5. Thanks all for your support, concern and suggestions. Greatly appreciated. Moses is still in the hospital, but we hope to be out in a couple of days.

  6. culturelle is great for after antibiotic use…arnica for shock and trauma..sorry if im just repeating old news..

  7. does anyone have a child who can be angry all the time? My child over the course of a few years became sensitive to almost everything. At one point she could only eat two foods. The main reaction being extreme behaviour. Of course and or itchy, hives, had a little exema. Actually as she heals it is coming out more in her skin and less in anger. She is sensitive to the sun (only in the summer), has reacted to water (our town has bad water), of course pollen, even the smells from cooking used to set her off. I used the crockpot on the porch a lot. the list litterally goes on and on. She is actually doing way better right now, with a combination of homeopathy, electical acupuncure, magnet acupuncture, and ciroprachtor. She was/is the sweetest child, unil exposed to an enviromental/food trigor, then its just terrible. She used to wake up and tantrum for up to three hours in the night. My question is this, is there support out there for parents in this situation? After a few years of this, it is soooo hard to handle ones self without falling apart. One starts to feel extreme emotions ones self. Oh ya, I guesse it doesnt’ help that I have my own auto-imune disorder.

  8. Hi Naomi: I can relate to having a child who is sensitive to almost everything (Moses was like that), although I have to say that your child’s sensitivities sound even more intense that Moses’. Sounds like you are doing great things for her (homeopathy, acupuncture, etc….) I started this blog as an outlet for myself because I was looking for support, and wanted to connect with other parents in similar situation.

    I highly recommend Heilkunst homeopathy because it has greatly helped my son. We found it more effective than classical homeopathy.

    Your self care is, of course, very important. Yoga, meditation, homeopathy for yourself, exercise, etc…

    I highly recommend MaxGXL and/or MaxOne for your child and also for yourself. https://crystalchild.wordpress.com/glutathione/

    Hope that helps.

  9. Thanks for replying. I can’t imagine what you and your family have gone through, all the hospital trips and emergencies, thats crazy, and know it must bring a ton of stress. I’ll definatly look into some of the stuff you mentioned, it sounds like your’e doing a good job, isn’t it so exciting to see your child eat some normal healthy food and not react? its amazing.

    As far as self care, I haven’t always been good at that, but think I’m getting better, right now I’m planning to look into yoga. Thanks again, prayers for you and yours.

  10. Hi Naomi: Yes, it is so amazing!!! We are so pleased and happy. We are amazed! It’s been a slow process of healing, but remarkable changes in Moses’ healing have really occurred, especially in the last two years. It’s so exciting for him to be able to eat some normal foods and not react. (He still has some allergies, but so much more less than before).

    Yoga is wonderful. Good for you for looking into it… It is so important, but at the same time, I know that when you have a young one who needs your attention all the time, it’s hard to make the time….

    Take good care, and best wishes for you and your daughter.

  11. I’m praying for you & your son. My two daughters also have an untreatable genetic disorder so I can empathise. Their love is all consuming, it makes everything seem worthwhile.

  12. Thanks so much, Matt. I too pray for you and your daughters. Many blessings to you and your family.

Leave a Reply

