Raising a Sensitive Child

Nourishing Body, Mind and Spirit

My son is healthy and well

17 Comments

Hello my dear friends.  Just felt like giving you an update on how we’re doing. Moses is doing great healthwise. He had an allergist appointment yesterday, and all went well. He received a prick test on a couple of new food items that we were curious about: kiwi and shellfish. He passed with flying colours!  No reaction at all. His allergist re-tested him with eggs and there was no reaction (which is in contrast to the violent throwing up episode that he had after eating a pancake made with 1/8 of an egg 6 months ago). She wants us to try baking with eggs to see if he’ll tolerate that. We’ll try it over the weekend. Will start off with a very little bit of an egg in GFCF muffins and see how that goes.

He’s still reactive to wheat and fish, and his allergist didn’t bother re-testing him with mixed nuts because for the last six months, he’s been able to drink almond milk every day with no problem. He doesn’t like almond butter or almonds, so he’s not eating them very often, but we’re no longer fearful of almonds. Next step is try feeding him the rest of the tree nuts. Our plan is to feed him some mixed nuts in the ER parking lot one of these weekends (we have his allergist’s support on trying this on our own!).  Soon.  Will be sure to let you know how that goes!

So his current allergy list is:

  • wheat (we avoid all gluten since he’s likely sensitive to gluten and gluten is generally not great for most individuals),
  • dairy;
  • and fish.

Eggs are likely a sensitivity, but as I mentioned, we’re going to try them in baked goods and we’re at the point where we are not concerned with products that are cross-contaminated with eggs. We also avoid MSG, chemicals, additives and preservatives as much as possible. Moses is doing so well that the allergist feels that she doesn’t need to assess him again for a whole year. She is very pleased and surprised by how much his allergies have healed over the last couple of years.

Holy goodness! This is amazing, amazing, amazing!  (For new readers, my son was once sensitive / allergic to 40+ foods, so I really feel that his sensitivities / allergies healing are a true miracle). I am so grateful! I once prayed that Moses would one day only be sensitive to gluten and dairy. That was my prayer (at the time, this idea was inconceivable really), and three years later it’s essentially a reality. I even think it is conceivable that one day, he will no longer need to carry an epi-pen. I actually feel that he is no longer at risk for anaphylaxis (since I know that gluten, dairy and fish are not anaphylactic risks for him). My new prayer is that Moses’ sensitivities and allergies completely heal.  So be it, and it is so and so it is.

If you need a reminder of his current treatment / supplement plan, you can read about it here. I feel like I’m a broken record, but I really feel that Heilkunst homeopathy was the most important part of his healing. We do a lot of other things as well, but we were doing many of the other things before we started healing with Heilkunst, so I feel that the Heilkunst healing was the key.

His recent eye injury back in February healed quickly (within 2 weeks, his eyesight had essentially recovered to where it was prior to that injury). I feel that prayer, total body modification and increasing his glutathione levels contributed to his quick recovery.

He has been healthy and well for four months!!!  I feel that increasing his glutathione levels has also been a significant factor in how he has been doing in the last couple of months. Like all things that create true healing on a deep level, his body detoxed when taking only the tiniest bit of the glutathione accellerator. I’ve given his body a break for the last month from detoxing anything (we haven’t tackled any new chronic miasms [Heilkunst homeopathy] since November and even gave him a break from the glutathione supplement during the last month). The last month has been heaven as Moses is really at a great point in his health. His health has stabilized and he’s generally happy. He is now a typical healthy five year old.

My boy loves Taekwon-do!

He has a powerful punch!

During our last appointment with our chiropractor (who does TBM and cranialsacral therapy as well), he assessed Moses and me, and commented that our bodies are the best they have ever been since we’ve started seeing him. My body is “less reactive”. Moses’ body is feeling “more normal”, less tense and more at ease. I really feel that our current treatment plan is really, really working!!

Now that his allergist appointment has passed, I’m going start clearing the last two levels of the Sycosis miasm (details about the first two levels here — it was a doozy). I’m a bit apprehensive about it, but feel that it’s important to do, to continue his healing journey. As always, I’ll let you know how it goes!

Some extra goodies:

  • CBC radio had a special on gluten-free baking. DH called in to offer some of our tips (esp. baking with 50% GF oatmeal flour and 50% brown rice flour). Interestingly, the dietician mentioned that many individuals with a gluten sensitivity don’t do well even with oatmeal that is not cross-contaminated with gluten since a protein in oatmeal (avenin) is similar to the gluten protein.  Fortunately GF oatmeal is not a problem for my boy (although DH is actually sensitive to oatmeal). You can listen to DH (he’s got a great voice – so natural and at ease on the radio) at minute 34 to 38 of the show (the third recording on this page)!
  • I recently heard this fun Wiggles song about allergies (thanks to Allergy Kinder’s FB recommendation). Check it out!

Updates:

March 10, 2012 – Moses had his first bit of kiwi. So far, so good!

March 18, 2012 – He ate 3/4 of a cashew and 1/4 of a walnut and then had a tummy ache and diarrhea.  On the good side, he’s not anaphylactic to tree nuts anymore, but seems to still be intolerant to them. Read more details about the oral tree nut challenge here.

17 thoughts on “My son is healthy and well

  1. What a joy it is to read this update! I couldn’t be happier for you all! It is jaw-droppingly (is that a word?!?) amazing how far M has come and the depth of your faith. Much love to you all!!

  2. Oh, thanks so much for your support and love, Lisa!!!! I know, it is absolutely amazing. The process of healing has been so gradual that the gift of this blog is that it allows me time to reflect on how far he has come. I’m so thankful!! Love you and your family!

  3. Thank you so much for sharing the path Moses has been on, Janice! The joy to see him in a better place is so profound for you, I can tell. I am deeply moved and pray that he continues to heal in the safest and easiest way for all of you.

    I just got caught up with your blog and enjoyed all of it. I signed up to get your posts via email – what a convenient little reminder is coming up for this!

    see you, my friend!

  4. SO HAPPY to read this Janice. Moses looks great and very confident in his outfit. Continued success in his and the families healing.
    Love, Carla

  5. Hi Mom Connected and Carla:

    Thank you to you both for your love, support and sharing in our joy. Love, healing and hugs to you and yours!!!

  6. Yay! I am so happy for you guys – what a miracle and inspiration. That is amazing. Thank you for sharing. Prayers out into the universe that you and your son achieve all you are working towards with radiant health.
    Denise

  7. Oh, thanks so much for your kind message, Denise. Wishing you all the best on your healing journey as well!

  8. Amazing. So happy for all of you. Here’s to continued healing and strength!

  9. This is AMAZING!!!! I am ECSTATIC for you guys!! It’s so nice to see that all your hard work and dedication to Moses’ health is paying off Janice. I would say this is a HUGE ladder in terms of the healing game. Don’t be worried about a pesky old snake should one pop up during the sycosis clearing.

    Great job Mamma!!
    Hugs, Hanna
    P.S. I think it’s so funny that you say you’re going to try giving Moses mixed nuts in the parking lot of a hospital. At one time, I thought the same thing about my kids!

  10. Cheryl and Hanna: Thanks for your kind words and enthusiasm!!

    Yes, this is a huge ladder, indeed!!! So far so good, re: sycosis clearing!!! Nothing hugely noticeable yet! Whew!!! Will wait another week until we clear the fourth level.

    haha! (re: do-it-yourself allergy tests in the parking lot of a hospital!!)

  11. That is so wonderful Janice. He looks so cute in his karate outfit. Keely is off eggs again. I am just not sure if she is reacting to them so I took her off the egg yolks too and am waiting until her rash is gone to try them again.

  12. Pingback: Tree nut challenge « Raising a Sensitive Child

  13. Pingback: My son’s allergies/sensitivities are healing « Raising a Sensitive Child

  14. Hi! I am a mother researching heilkunst for my two children. We are also looking into CEASE, but I am finding myself more drawn towards heilkunst. I love your blog and can relate to many things you have written. Is there a way we could chat more about heilkunst? Perhaps by email or phone? my email is briannalomba@gmail.com if that’s a good place to start!! Thanks so much. I wish continued healing for your son. Your story is so inspiring! Brianna

  15. Hi Brianna: I would love to email or talk to you more about Heilkunst and will send you an email!

  16. Hi Again, your blog has so much information, thank you so much. I’m so happy for Moses and your family, great news!!

    May son Oli is at the moment doing CEASE, taking vitamin C + magnesium, fish oil and zinc.

    I bought Rob Keller’s glutathione for him, how much do you think I should give him? He is only 2 and a half years old.

    Thanks, thanks!!!

    Julie

  17. Hi Julie: I’m glad that you are finding the information helpful!

    It sounds like your son is on a great treatment plan! 🙂

    A good guideline is 1 capsule of Dr. Keller’s Original Formula for every 25 lbs. of weight per day. I would start with just a 1/3 of a capsule, and then gradually work your way up from there.

    You can open up the capsule and mix contents in apple sauce, yogurt, juice, shake, oatmeal, cereal, on toast, etc. Let me know how he does on it!!

    Many blessings for your son’s healing!

Leave a Reply

