Raising a Sensitive Child

Nourishing Body, Mind and Spirit

The body’s magic buttons…

6 Comments

I recently have been using some of Donna Eden’s “energy medicine” techniques on the whole family (thanks to Jaime for recommending Donna Eden’s Energy Medicine book to me). Donna Eden’s energy medicine is very accessible and easy — it essentially involves gentle movements and / or pressing different acupressure points on the body, helping the body’s flow of energy.

I love how simple, easy and quick these techniques are. Anyone can do them. Not only that, there are really effective. I’ve been feeling more centred when I remember to use these techniques.

I’ve been trying to do some of them before Moses goes to school and before he goes to bed. I tell him that I’m pressing his “magic buttons”. It is easy enough for Moses to do on his own, but for now, I’m doing it for him.

Two techniques are the “zip up” and the “hook up”, which helps one to quickly centre themselves.

The zip up:

  • You zip up an imaginary zipper from your pubic bone to your bottom lip (I’ve been doing it on Moses from his belly to his bottom lip and then all the way up over his head, to connect his aura with Spirit energy).
  • Repeat three times.
  • The zip up helps one to feel more safe and protected, less vulnerable to outside energies (so important for sensitive children who are so energetically sensitive to their surroundings).

The hook up:

  • You place one hand on your third eye and one hand on your navel and pull up for 15 to 20 seconds.
  •  It’s a quick and powerful way to centre oneself.
  • Donna Eden says in her Energy Medicine for Women book that they have used this technique to stop a seizure within 15-20 seconds.
  • I used the hook up when Moses was having a night terror and his night terror stopped within 15-20 seconds.  hmmmm….

Watch a video of the zip up and the hook up here:

More reading:

  • Read Donna Eden’s explanation of the benefits and how to do a “hook up” here.
  • Read more instructions and see a picture of the “hook up” here.
6 thoughts on “The body’s magic buttons…

  1. Hmmmm…very interesting Janice! I’ve tried EFT before but I might try this as well. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  2. Hi Hanna: I love EFT too — it’s been awhile since I used it, but I found it really effective when I did use it. Let me know how it goes! I think I’ll periodically post a different Donna Eden technique that we’re using…

  3. Thanks for sharing Janice….you are a wealth of knowledge. I tried the hook-up one and it really did make me feel better. I am doing a juice fast today and finding that I’m really on edge. I over-indulged on vacation and now trying to reset my body…but ugh…the cravings and edginess is awful. I know I’ll feel better in the morning, though. Good night!

  4. Pingback: Donna Eden’s 5 minute daily energy routine « Raising a Sensitive Child

  5. Reblogged this on The Highly Sensitive Family and commented:
    Great tips…..

Leave a Reply

