Raising a Sensitive Child

Nourishing Body, Mind and Spirit

The angel at A&W

9 Comments

I was reminded of this story when a friend and I were talking about human angels in unexpected places…

When Moses was one year old, the eczema / rash on his face was so bad that strangers would often gasp in surprise when they saw Moses’ face. They felt compelled to ask us, “What’s wrong with your baby’s face?”

I remember one morning when I brought Moses to a community centre play hour, one woman remarked that she hoped that we weren’t taking any pictures of our child because she said that he wouldn’t want to see them when he grew up.

We now know that the severe rash was due to the fact that he had Hyper IgE syndrome or Job’s syndrome (so named for the rash and skin afflictions typically associated with this diagnosis), but it took four years to get this diagnosis, so at the time, we didn’t know why we couldn’t easily heal Moses’ skin condition.

I felt that Moses’ rashes were a sign that I was a failure as a mother. As a healer, I felt even worse. I felt terrible that I couldn’t do anything to help him (at this point, we had already exhausted everything that we felt that we could to help our son — doctors, medications, creams, healers, naturopathy, limited diet, supplements, herbal medications, homeopathy, etc.).

On this one day in particular, Moses had yet another allergic reaction to something and we had an appointment with his pediatrician. We were living in a city of a million people, and Moses’ doctor was a well known and well respected pediatrician. I liked this doctor because he was quite progressive in his thinking. We were hoping for some answers. Both DH and I were there for this appointment. We explained what we had been going through, and the doctor told us, “I’m afraid that I can’t do anything for you.”

We left the appointment feeling hopeless and in despair. We felt all alone in this journey. DH drove to a nearby A&W (something that we generally didn’t do, but I think we were looking for comfort food). When he drove into the parking lot, he was so distraught, he drove the car partially up the curb, which shook us into reality.

We placed our order, both of us  fighting back tears. The cashier looked at Moses, and I braced myself for the insensitive comment that was sure to come. I knew that I didn’t have it in me today to face another insensitive comment.

She looked at Moses, and she looked up at us and told us, “Your son has such beautiful eyes”.

****

Even now, five years later, when I write these words, tears stream down my face as I remember that difficult time, and also the gratitude that I felt when that angel in A&W spoke those words. Our spirits were immediately lifted by her simple words. She had the rare ability to see what most people did not. The truth is that Moses had the most amazing eyes.  Eyes that penetrated you. Eyes that saw and understood so much. Eyes of an old wise soul.

DH and I often speak about that angel in A&W. How she reminded us of Moses’ true beauty.

Remembering this story also reminds me of how far we  have come in Moses’ healing, and reminds me to see with the eyes of an angel.

9 thoughts on “The angel at A&W

  1. Wow. That was certainly a message from above. I’m so glad you heard those words as a family.

    I hope Moses’s has continued to heal – please keep me updated!

  2. Wow!!!! Beautiful post Janice. I loved it. 🙂

  3. All I can say Janice is that I’m sitting here tonight at my computer reading your words – and just sending you and your family healing vibes. You guys have such an intense journey – it’s like fire. And you all will come through this -just like the phoenix. I pray for you guys.

    I am really bummed about this vitamin C thing. Super bummed. I will continue to look for ideas for you and send them along when I find them. MRSA sucks – my heart goes out to you and Moses. And the vitamin C has been instrumental for me in my healing from MRSA. When I find other ideas for your arsenal of health – I’ll send them along. Re vitamin C – that 10 year old mentioned in the article having not been able to tolerate 1200 mg – just a real bummer. But I’ve been reading more on the G6PD deficiency and it seems that – it depends on the severity of the deficiency because some kids can tolerate things in smaller doses without having hemolysis. But that is something to discuss with your doctor obviously.

    I also get that you are doing so much – that you may need to take it off your list of things on the radar. Either way – I get it. Just know that you will unlock the code. You already are. Moses is healing.

    Denise

  4. Loved reading your blog post. Million dollar words that you’ll remember forever. So much to be grateful for and when we remember the beautiful comments that count instead of the ones that hurt us profoundly it can change our life. Thank you for sharing.

  5. Thanks all for your comments!

    Denise, I love the fire and phoenix metaphor!! Thanks also for sharing all of the info re: high dose vitamin C…. I know that DH will not be open to it (we really don’t know how severe his G6PD deficiency is, but he has had two hemolytic crises…)

    Mom Connected: Moses is doing great emotionally and physically!!!!! Thanks so much for asking.

  6. okay now I’m crying too. beautiful story.

  7. That is a very nice story, Janice. Thank you for sharing. My son started preschool last week and I am facing some of these same feelings. Your last sentence is very true, though. I am focusing on all the challenges Thomas is facing rather than being so proud that he has come as far as he has. He is in a typical preschool without an aide…not something I imagined two years ago!!

  8. Love you, Cheryl…

    Hi Brianna: That is absolutely amazing that Thomas is in a typical preschool without an aide!!!!!!! It’s not an easy journey, parenting these sensitive souls. I wish your son (and you) all of the best as Thomas meets the challenges of preschool.

  9. Pingback: Healthy and strong | Raising a Sensitive Child

Leave a Reply

