Raising a Sensitive Child

Nourishing Body, Mind and Spirit

Reflections at the end of 2012

6 Comments

2012 felt like a doozy of a year. So many highs and so many lows.

I was one of the people who started anticipating the Big Shift of 2012 as early as 01.01.01, and it’s funny how when 12.12.12 came and 12.21.12 arrived, I didn’t even blink an eye or  feel a huge need to participate in a ceremony (although I did welcome the winter solstice quietly and beautifully during a candlelit restorative yoga workshop led by one of my dearest friends). I resonated with a different interpretation of the end of the Mayan calendar and actually felt the big shift last year on October 28, 2011.

I think most everyone is feeling things strongly these days. I personally feel that we are all being strongly called to live from the heart. If we try to live from the mind, we will literally go out of our minds. But if we live our lives from the quiet stillness from our hearts, we will find peace within, no matter how chaotic things may appear on the outside.

I feel that I have been shedding much over the last few months. I hosted an Aya despacho (a ceremony that involved the preparation of a prayer bundle to honour our ancestors) at the end of October. In November, I attended a two day Dying Consciously workshop, during which we wrote our own obituaries, experienced the death rites (twice) and listened to our obituaries being read while our luminous body were disconnected (temporarily) from our physical body. It was a very profound experience. And then a couple of days ago, I experienced another form of the death rites as part of an Ancient Egyptian Mysticism course. So much shedding of the past, so that we can be reborn.

I feel that I’ve done so much processing and deep energetic work that, ironically, over the last few weeks since our 12 days in the hospital that I’ve fled up into the safety of my mind. I’ve been researching, researching, researching. Hoping to find comfort by reading how essential oils have helped so many people. Hoping and praying that my son will be amongst those that they will help.

During our Christmas holidays, I’ve also slowly been trying to ease back into my body. Practicing yoga here and there. Meditating again. Connecting to that deep and wise voice within that tells me that all will be alright. We are all safe. My boy will be okay, is okay, actually is more than okay. He is healing. He is really healing. Trust, trust, trust, trust, trust.

And, I really do believe in my heart of hearts that he is. I know that he is. He has come so far that other than during our periodic hospital visits (!), no one can tell that he has an immune disorder.

Christmas 2012

Christmas 2012

He runs around. He is happy and well. He is smart. He is funny. He loves to dance. He has tons of fun with his favourite cousin. He brings us so much joy. He has lots of energy. Nothing holds him back. He is a typical crazy six year old.

His body seems to be recovering well from his pneumonia. It’s not holding him back. The day after our trip to the hospital last week, no one could tell that he was recovering from pneumonia. He bounces back so quickly.

Now, he has three new abscesses. One of them is huge. All of them are in a very sensitive area. Not fun at all. But, he doesn’t complain. He still runs around and plays. He’s been in a great mood. But the one that is huge looks like it may need hospital intervention. Possibly as soon as tomorrow. And, truthfully, I’m devastated about that. It’s the absolute last thing that I want to do on the first day of a new year — have a trip to the ER, a consultation with a surgeon and try to keep my son calm during a painful procedure (he assures me that even though they use a topical anaesthetic, it still hurts when they drain it). And it’s in a sensitive area — his groin. Not fun for any of us.

I’m terribly sad. Feel that it’s not fair. He’s gone through so much. Why does he keep getting these d*mn abscesses. From a homeopathic perspective, it’s a sign of healing — things are coming to the surface to resolved. I’ve been taking a break from homeopathic clearing because I feel that his body needs a break from clearing, and yet his body is still creating abscesses. Is it because his body is still trying to clear the syphilitic miasm on its own?  Is he responding to the recent energy work that I’ve been doing (which he seems to do — when I undergo healing for myself, his body tends to respond). Is it a healing reaction to the essential oils — are they clearing him from a deep level too?  I’m not sure. I hope that the abscesses are signs of healing. I need to believe that they are. It would be heartbreaking and demoralizing for me to believe what the medical model believes — that he’s just getting them because his immune system is compromised and his body has a difficult time from fighting infection. I need to believe that they are a sign of healing.

So then, I go within. I connect to that deep and wise voice and inner knowingness. And the deep and wisest part of me tells me the truth: Moses is healing. He is healing. He is healing. Trust. Trust. Trust. Trust.

And so I do. I need to.

I pray for ease, grace, balance, health, joy and beauty for our family and for yours in 2013.

Happy New Year, dear friends.

Updates:

January 1, 2013 – We decided to wait a couple more days to give Moses’ body some more time to see if it can resolve the abscesses on their own. Whew! I’m very thankful.

6 thoughts on “Reflections at the end of 2012

  1. Sending you and Moses lots of healing energy. I pray that 2013 will be the year your son is healed. Bless you and your family!

  2. Oh, thank you for the blessing! God bless you and your family!!!

  3. This was a beautiful and heartfelt writing. You are right… He is healing. This is how his body heals. He is showing us that he is healing in many other ways as you pointed out (energy, happiness, peace). I can totally understand your devastation with the potential hospital visit for his abscess. I was recently introduced to the Healing Codes which you probably already know of… Similar to EFT but maybe a little easier to do and especially easy to do for other people. It is helping me get to another level of peace and I have seen it help my kids when I do it as a surrogate… Even with physical issues. All the best to you and I pray that tomorrow is peaceful for you and Moses.

  4. Hi Brianna: Thanks so much for your heartfelt note. I found comfort in it. I always feel comforted when I hear from those of you who understand healing reactions. It makes me feel a bit less crazy. And, thank you so much for mentioning the Healing Codes. That’s the second time that I heard about them in two days, so I take that as a sign. I will definitely look into it. Today will be a peaceful day — we’ve decided to wait a couple of more days to see how Moses’ body deals with the abscesses on its own before we head to the hospital.

  5. Happy New Year Janice!! I’ll admit that it was a crazy few months for me and I haven’t had a chance to read your posts (or even update my own blog for that matter), but I’m relishing the feeling that things are FINALLY slowing down. I’ve got a coffee in hand and I plan to make up for lost time catching up with old cyber-friends. 😉

    Glad to read about your positive reflections on the new year and I wish you health, peace and happiness for 2013. May God bless you all. 🙂

  6. Hi Hanna: So great to hear from you and I look forward to hearing updates on how Adam is doing and you are doing and how all of your house renovations are going.

    Thanks so much for the good wishes for this year. I wish the same for you and your family in 2013 as well. Many blessings and much healing for us all.

Leave a Reply

